Philadelphia University ’s Hall of Fame coach Herb Magee, the winningest coach in NCAA men’s basketball history, has been named this year’s “Living Legend” by the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association, it was announced by PSWA president Rich Westcott.

Magee, who was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame last August with 922 victories—all at the same institution—will be honored at the Philadelphia Sports Writers Association’s 108th annual Dinner on Monday, January 30, 2012 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, on Route 70 in Cherry Hill , NJ .

Magee, an All America at Philadelphia University where he graduated as the Rams’ all-time leading scorer, is in his 45th season as coach at his alma mater where he guided his team to an NCAA Division II National Championship in 1970.

Among his many milestones: he set the record for most wins in NCAA Division II in 2007 by surpassing the mark of 828 held by legendary Winston-Salem State head coach Clarence “Big House” Gaines, and he passed Bobby Knight’s NCAA men’s record of 902 wins in 2010.

In addition to the Naismith Hall of Fame, Magee  has been  inducted into seven other shrines—the Philadelphia Sports Hall of Fame, Philadelphia University Hall of Fame, Philadelphia University Athletic Hall of Fame, Pennsylvania Hall of Fame, Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame, Philadelphia Area Small College Hall of Fame, and the West Philadelphia Catholic High School Hall of Fame. He also received an honorary degree of Doctor of Humane Letters from his alma mater in 2009.

Other prestigious PSWA awards that have previously been announced include the Philadelphia Phillies, as the Team of the Year (Phillies General Manager Ruben Amaro, Jr. will be on hand to accept this award); Philadelphia Flyers center Claude Giroux, the Pro Athlete of the Year; Villanova University track and cross country All America Sheila Reed, Outstanding Amateur Athlete, Phillies outfielder Hunter Pence, the Good Guy of the Year, and San Francisco Giants pitcher Ryan Vogelsong, Native Son.

Phillies Manager Charlie Manuel, WNBA Coach of the Year Cheryl Reeve, Philadelphia Union soccer star Sebastien LeToux, college football coaching Hall of Famer Bill Manlove, and basketball coaching legend Harry Perretta will receive Special Achievement awards.

The Humanitarian of the Year award, among others, will be announced shortly as will a couple of surprise presentations. The most coveted award—Most Courageous—is kept secret until the night of the dinner.

Tickets for the dinner at $95 apiece are available online at, or by sending a check payable to PSWA, c/o Robbie Kenney, Ticket Chairman, 110 Harrogate Drive., Lumberton , NJ 08048 . Fans can also friend PSWA on Facebook. Doors to the banquet open at 5 P.M. with the dinner starting promptly at 6:30 P.M.