The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded every year to the player "who best embodies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to the game of hockey."

All 31 of the NHL teams have a nominee that is narrowed down to three finalists for the NHL's award ceremony at the end of the season. The Philadelphia chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association has nominated Claude Giroux from the Flyers.

"It means a lot," Giroux said to the Flyers Official Website. "I've been through a lot and I've been able to have a lot of help from everybody that's involved with me, all my trainers here in Philly and my coaches and also my trainer back home Tony Greco. Just the dedication and all the time they've put in on me. It's been a great journey.

"I think last year was pretty tough. My mind was telling me to do something but I just couldn't do it. At the end, it was more of a mental thing and I had a really tough time. But like I said, I was able to have a good summer last summer and I had good people around me to help me get better. It was a process but right now it's going pretty well and hopefully we can keep going."

Giroux had just 56 points and 14 goals in the 2016-17 season while recovering from offseason surgery. In the 2017-18 season, after moving to the wing, he experienced a resurgence in production numbers. Through 76 games, Giroux has 26 goals and 91 points. Both totals are two away from career-high marks.

Giroux has also made an impact on his place in Flyers history this season. Entering Tuesday's action, Giroux ranks fifth all-time in points in Flyers history with 666 points and is fourth in assists with 460.

Past nominees for the Masterton from the Flyers include Pierre-Edouard Bellemare in 2017 and Shayne Gostisbehere in 2016. Three Flyers have won the award. Bobby Clarke won the award in 1972, Tim Kerr won it in 1989 and Ian Laperriere won in 2010.

More From 97.3 ESPN