The 2017 National League Rookie of the Year voting was a slam-dunk.  Despite three "finalists" being named, there never really was much of a competition.  Dodgers first baseman Cody Bellinger took home all 30 first place votes to make him the unanimous winner.  Though he did not even finish in the top three, Rhys Hoskins certainly made his impression upon those voting.

August 10, 2017 was the day that the Phillies promoted Hoskins from Triple-A Lehigh Valley.  That meant that Hoskins was around for just 50 games.  Hoskins made the most of them, belting 18 home runs and driving in 48.  The voters, while their minds were set on Bellinger for the award, made the world know they were impressed.

Hoskins finished in fourth place in this year's voting.  10 voters (one-third of the 30 voters in the  Baseball Writers Association of America) included Hoskins on their ballots.  Nine of them were third-place votes while one second place vote went to Hoskins.

The second place vote came from former MLB Scout and Fan Rag Sports writer Bernie Pleskoff.

Both of the voters in the Philadelphia chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America who cast a vote, Ryan Lawrence and Meghan Montemurro, issued a third-place vote for Hoskins.

More From 97.3 ESPN