Confirming earlier speculation, the Philadelphia 76ers have announced their new logo.


Here is the new primary logo, along with partial and secondary logos that the team intends to use as well.


The 76ers sent out a press release detailing the new logo, while also announcing that the new uniforms will be unveiled on June 18th, from 7-8:30 at the Wells Fargo Center. Fans can attend the event free of charge.

From the press release:

PHILADELPHIA, PA – MAY 12, 2015 – The Philadelphia 76ers today unveiled an updated brand identity, which includes a redesigned primary logo and a series of partial and secondary logo variations in advance of the NBA Draft Lottery on Tuesday, May 19 and the introduction of new uniforms on Thursday, June 18.


The logo set is effective immediately and updates the iconic Sixers design through the incorporation of new and traditionally significant elements.


The team’s new primary logo is a modern interpretation of the classic Sixers insignia, stylistically redeveloped to include a patriotic blue border with six white stars and “PHILADELPHIA” adorned across the heading. The familiar white basketball has been visually updated with a positional rotation of the seams. The emblematic ring of 13 stars present in the primary, partial and secondary logos continues to represent the original American Colonies.


The introduction of the new logos tips off the launch of an updated visual identity for the Sixers, highlighted by new uniforms for the 2015-16 season.


The uniforms will debut on June 18 at a public event held from 7:00-8:30 p.m. at the Wells Fargo Center (3601 S Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19148), where attendees will be treated to a series of dynamic digital displays and interactive elements. Sixers legends Billy Cunningham, Darryl Dawkins, Moses Malone, Bobby Jones and Allen Iverson and special guest Barbara Chamberlain-Lewis, sister of the late Wilt Chamberlain, are scheduled to attend, as well as current Sixers players.


The new uniforms are inspired by Sixers jersey designs from the eras of Chamberlain (late 1960s), Cunningham (1970s) and Julius Erving (1980s). More details on the uniform unveil are forthcoming.

Follow @DerekBodnerNBA on twitter