On Monday, the NBA began naming the winners of the leagues top awards, with New York Knicks head coach Tom Thibodeau being named the NBA Coach of the Year.

Sixers head coach Doc Rivers earned two first place votes to finish in fourth place in voting with a total of 24 points, Thibodau finished with 351 point to win the award.

The award is voted on by members of the NBA media.

97.3 ESPN logo
Get our free mobile app

Rivers won the award after the 1999-2000 season when he was roaming the sidelines for the Orlando Magic.

Philadelphia captured the No. 1 seed in the Eastern Conference for the first-time since 2000-2001, when Allen Iverson led the Sixers all the way to the NBA Finals.

Before Rovers’ arrival, the Sixers did make the playoffs for three straight seasons, but were never seeded higher than third. In a pandemic-interrupted 2019-20 season, Brett Brown’s final season in Philadelphia, the Sixers were the No. 6 seed and were swept by Boston in the first-round of the playoffs, forcing the team to move on from Brown.

This season, the team won 49 games 51 in a 72-game season, with some solid offseason tweaks from Daryl Morey, and the development of Joel Embiid into an MVP candidate.

These Pictures Are Bizarre!

Sixers Head Coaches With Most Wins In Franchise History




More From 97.3 ESPN